League of Legends  2015 World Championship

Every year, thousands of people come to the League of Legends World Championship just to watch teams compete with each other. The venue for the championship this year is Berlin, Germany and hearing the news, fans are getting really excited for the games.  Only a few weeks remaining before the  upcoming LOL 2015 World Championship, a number of qualifiers were held around the world.  Various participated in the Regional Qualifiers to earn  a seat in the championship and they will later compete in the Group Stage, Quarter Finals, Semifinals, and (if they make it) the Finals. Indeed, it is difficult to keep up with all this information, but I’m here to help you be updated and not miss any important news.

Who is playing in the World Championship?

The best teams from  Korea, China, Taiwan/Hong Kong/Macau, Europe (EU) and North America (NA)  get invited to the Championship, while other teams of Wildcard regions get qualified by competing against each other in the  International Wildcard Tournament.

The number of teams that receives the ticket to the Championship slightly varies within the region. Every year, three teams from NA, EU, Korea and China get qualified and two teams are invited from Taiwan/Hong Kong/Macau.  For the Wildcard regions, though, only two top teams are selected.

The teams qualified for this year’s World Championship are:


  1. SKTelecom T1 (SKT)
  2. KOO Tigers (KOO)
  3. KT Rolster (KT)


  1. LGD Gaming (LGD)
  2. Edward Gaming (EDG)
  3. Invictus Gaming (IG)


  1. Counter Logic Gaming (CLG)
  2. Team SoloMid (TSM)
  3. Cloud9 (C9)


  1. Fnatic
  2. H2K
  3. Origen

Taiwan/ Hong Kong/ Macau

  1. ahq e-Sports Club (AHQ)
  2. Flash Wolves

International Wildcard

  1. Bangkok Titans
  2. paIN Gaming

What are they playing for?

Of course the intentional glory and pride will follow up the champion of the annual league, but that’s not the only merit of getting entitled as the Champion of 2015. There is a prize pool which is over $2,000,000 USD and this prize money will be given to the participants depending on their performance.

  • World Champion – $1,000,000 USD
  • 2nd place – $250,000 USD
  • 3rd & 4th place – $150,000 USD
  • 5th ~ 8th place – $75,000 USD
  • 9th ~ 12th place – $45,000 USD
  • 13th ~ 16th place – $25,000 USD